Veterinary Faculty. Complutense University of Madrid


Coordinator of the Program: Prof. Manuela Fernández Álvarez (Vice-dean for Postgraduate Studies) (

About 200 researchers from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine participate in the PhD program as tutors and thesis supervisors. The program temporarily admits researchers from other institutions for the supervision of the students. Application forms

The staff of the Veterinary Faculty of the UCM collaborates with researchers from numerous national and international universities and research centres in the implementation of projects, student placements, evaluation and supervision of doctoral theses, and publication of scientific papers:


Ghent University (Belgium)

Institute of Food Research (Quadram Institute Bioscience) (UK)

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)

Leiden University Medical Center (Netherlands)

National Institute for Agricultural and Food Research and Technology (INIA, Spain)

Norwegian University of Life Sciences (Norway)

Royal Veterinary College (UK)

Spanish National Research Council (CSIC, Spain)

Stockholm University (Sweden)

Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)

Universidad Alfonso X El Sabio (Spain)

Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (Spain)

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid  (Spain)

Universidad Católica de Córdoba (Argentina)

Universidad de Buenos Aires (Argentina)

University of Cairo (Egypt)

University of Copenhagen (Denmark)

Universidad de Córdoba (Spain)

Universidad de León (Spain)

Université de Limoges (France)

Universidad de Santiago de Compostela (Spain)

Universidad de Sevilla (Spain)

Universidad de Zaragoza (Spain)

Universidad Nacional de Córdoba (Argentina)

Universidad Nacional del Litoral (Argentina)

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (Spain)

Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (Spain)

Universidad Pública de Navarra (Spain)

Universidad Técnica de Ambato (Ecuador)

Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro (Portugal)

Universidade Federal Fluminense (Brasil)

Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (Brasil)

Universitá degli Studi de Milano (Italiy)

University College Cork (Ireland)

University College Dublin (Ireland)

University of Applied Science of Osnabrueck (Germany)

University of California, Davis (USA)

University of Cambridge (UK)

University of Edinburgh (UK)

University of Minnesota (USA)

University of Nottingham (UK)

University of Pretoria (South Africa)

VU University Medical Center (Netherlands)

Wageningen Agricultural University (Netherlands)